National Thermal Power Corporation

National Thermal Power Corporation is the largest Indian state-owned electric utilities company, With a current generating capacity of 36,014 MW, NTPC has embarked on plans to become a 75,000 MW company by 2017. It was founded on November 7, 1975. NTPC’s core business is engineering, construction and operation of power generating plants and providing consultancy to power utilities in India and abroad.

National Thermal Power Corporation plants are located at Singrauli, Korba, Ramagundam, Farakka, Vindhyachal, Rihand, Kahalgaon, Dadri (NTPC Dadri) Talcher, Unchahar, Simhadri, Tanda, Badarpur (BTPS), Sipat, Sipat (erection phase), Bongaigaon (erection phase), Mouda (erection phase), Barh (erection phase) Durgapur, Rourkela, Bhilai, Aurangabad, Kanti, Nabinagar, Anta, Auraiya, Kawas Jhanor, Kayamkulam, Faridabad

The company has also stepped up its hydroelectric power (hydel) projects implementation. Currently the company is mainly interested in the North-east India wherein the Ministry of Power in India has projected a hydel power feasibility of 3000 MW.

The hydel power plants includes Loharinag Pala Hydro Power Project (Uttarakhand), Tapovan Vishnugad (Uttarakhand), Koldam Hydro Power Project (Himachal), Amochu in Bhutan, Rupasiyabagar Khasiabara (Uttarakhand)

Visit Suitable For: Electrical Engineering, Instrumentation Engineering, Electronic engineering Chemical engineering, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Management students, Kindly ensure booking industrial visit 15 days prior to your planned visit